SONGS - Carolyn Graye, voice; Jessica Williams, piano on OA2 Records - Produced by Carolyn Graye, recorded May 1997 - Jessica Williams appears courtesy of Red and Blue Records - ALBUM NOT AVAILABLE

1 That's All

2 Blue Bossa

3 Up Jumped Spring

4 Alone Together

5 If You Could See Me Now

6 Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me

7 Everything Happens to Me

8 Get Outa Town

9 We'll Be Together Again

10 Orange was the Color of her Dress Then Silk Blues (Mingus)

10 Turnaround

Total time- 62:00


to next

view all


Critics Reviews


Review or commentJason West, All About Jazz

Carolyn Graye is a veteran vocalist and jazz pianist; however, on her latest release she chooses to focus on singing and let Jessica Williams tackle the keyboard duties. The result is Songs, twelve standards that portray Ms. Graye in a favorable light, making intelligent musical decisions while adding her personal signature to well-known favorites. Highlights include her original lyrics to Ornette Coleman's "Turnaround," a bluer-than-blue "Blue Bossa," and a cyber twist on the lyrics to "Everything Happens To Me."

While the vocalist's mezzo-soprano instrument is not incredibly beautiful or powerful or showy (think: American Idol), it is controlled, consistently in tune and capable of great moments, such as the warm, focused vibrato that propels the final chorus of "That's All." Rather than drown a song with flash and embellishments as younger, less experienced singers are apt to do, Graye trusts the lyric, piano and voice to create music greater than the some of its parts.

It's my guess that Williams, as dominant a force as can be found in modern jazz, and one who rarely assumes the role of accompanist, appreciates the subtleties in Graye's approach. Rather than battle for superiority, the duo run through Songs on equal footing, resolved to journey where the music takes them. - Jason West, All About Jazz

Review or commentFrom CD Universe:

Personnel: Carolyn Graye (vocals); Jessica Williams (piano). Recorded at Little Bird Studio, Santa Cruz, California on May 20-21, 1997.

Vocalist Carolyn Graye and the great pianist Jessica Williams team up for a fantastic duo recording on "Songs." Featuring 10 tracks of jazz standards, this recording is a must for piano and vocal enthusiasts.

Review or commentThe Muse's Muse; Carolyn Graye / Jessica Williams – Songs; By Ben Ohmart - 06/20/03

The simple, unadorned title fits the contents. This is just an album of Carolyn Graye singing against Jessica Williams’ romantic, hardly flashy piano. A real piano. It is night and nightclub jazz for those of us who really Dig this kind of naked, sweet, cool, old-fashioned style.

It is a truly beautiful release, from a truly beautiful jazz label. OriginArts. I’ve sung the praises on these guys before myself. They are the best of the non-major labels that promote jazz in all its masks. No. I’ll retract that. They are the best, end of story.

I don’t know what you’re reading this sentence for. You should be on your way to the store to buy it. - Ben Ohmart


itemNone yet | post