ASK US | next album

Joyful Sorrow

JOYFUL SORROW - Jessica Williams, solo piano. This album was among the Top 5 Jazz Cds in the 1996 JazzTimes Critic's Poll

Nothin' But the Truth

NOTHIN' BUT THE TRUTH - Grammy Nominee, 1986, on Blackhawk Records. The Jessica Williams Trio


view all


JazzTimes Critics Award

  • I Remember Bill
  • Alone Together
  • My One and Only Love
  • Flamenco Sketches
  • Joyful Sorrow
  • I Fall in Love too Easily
  • My Man's Gone Now
  • Blues for Bill


Review or commentReview by George Fendel at Jazzscene Magazine

Rather than somehow trying to "sound" like Bill Evans, Jessica brilliantly puts Evans-like energy into the realm of beauty and emotion.

And what results is a stunning recital which will hold you spellbound. Jessica weaves three exquisite originals around Alone Together, My One And Only Love, Flamenco Sketches, I Fall In Love Too Easily and My Man's Gone Now.

But honestly, it's not so much the eight tunes. Rather, it's the artistry and love that you hear here. You'll know it's from Jessica's heart.

Blackhawk Records; Playing Time: 56:32

Jessica Williams in a live concert at The Jazz and Blues Company in Carmel, CA



Nothin but the Truth; Jessica Williams, piano; Bud Spangler, drums; John Wiitala, bass - Grammy Nominee, 1986, on Blackhawk Records. See here

JazzTimes Critics Award

  • Nothin but the Truth
  • Kristen
  • Monk's Hat
  • Round Midnight
  • Dog Days
  • Ugly Beauty
  • Stars Fell on Alabama